10 Indian Americans named AAAS Fellows

They are part of 388 new Fellows.

By Deepak Chitnis

WASHINGTON, DC: The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has listed ten Indian Americans among its new class of 388 AAAS Fellows.

The newcomers, who were announced in the November 29 issue of Science Magazine, are in the fields of engineering, biological sciences, and “information, computing, and communication.”

In Engineering, the AAAS named: Kanti Jain – The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Suresh Menon – George Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech); Brij M. Moudgil – The University of Florida at Gainesville; and Shankar Subramaniam – The University of California at San Diego.

Jain is an alumnus of IIT Kharagpur and the University of Illinois, and is a professors of electrical and computer engineering at the latter. He is also the founder and president of Anvik Corp. Menon studied at IIT and the University of Maryland, and currently teaches aerospace engineering. Moudgil studied at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore and Columbia University and is a distinguished professor of material science and engineering. Subramaniam hails from IIT Kanpur and teaches bioengineering and nano-engineering, as well as various courses in biology and chemistry.

In biological sciences, three more people of Indian origin were named: Tej Krishnan Pandita – The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Rohit V. Pappu – Washington University in St. Louis; and Ranjan Sen – The National Institute of Health’s National Institute on Aging.

Pandita teaches oncology and is part of the Molecular Radiation Department at the UT Southwestern Medical Center, and has authored more than 100 journal articles during his career. Pappu is part of the biomedical engineering department at WashU St. Louis, and Sen is the chief of the Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology and chief of the Gene Regulation Section at the National Institute on Aging.

Fellowships in “Information, Computing, and Communication” were given to: Ananth Grama – Purdue University; Sudeep Sarkar – University of South Florida at Tampa; Sudarsanam Suresh Babu – The University of Tennessee at Knoxville and the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Grama teaches computer science, and holds degrees from the Universities of Roorkee, Wayne State, and Minnesota. Sarkar, a professor of computer sciences and engineering, is the associate vice president of research and innovation at the University of South Florida. Finally, Babu is the Governor’s Chair in Advanced Manufacturing at the University of Tennessee’s College of Engineering.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.