64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar wins best actor, Surabhi Lakshmi bags best actress

By |

Marathi film ‘Kasav’ bagged the best feature film award.

The 64th National Film Awards were announced on Friday and Akshay Kumar bagged the award for best actor for his performance in the movie ‘Rustom’. Surabhi Lakshmi won the best actress award for Malayalam film ‘Minnaminugu’ and Rajesh won best director award for Marathi film ‘Ventilator’.

Marathi film ‘Kasav’ bagged the best feature film award while ‘Fireflies in the Abyss’ won the best non-feature film award. Telugu film ‘Sathamanam Bhavati’ got the award for the best popular film.

Shoojit Sircar’s Amitabh Bachchan starrer movie ‘Pink’ grabbed the prize for the Best Film on social issue and Sonam Kapoor starrer ‘Neerja’ was declared the Best Hindi Film of 2016. Sonam also received a special mention for her performance in the movie.

Aamir khan’s Dangal, which became one of the biggest engrosses in the history of Indian cinema, has only one proud moment during the award declaration as the 16-year-old Zaira Wasim won the best supporting actress award.

READ:  SALDEF concludes first part of its 6th annual SikhLEAD leadership program in Los Angeles, CA

Actor Mohanlal got a Jury award of Rs. 2 lakhs for his performances in the Malayalam movies ‘Munthirivallikal Thalirkumbol’, ‘Pulimurugan’ and Telugu movie ‘Janatha Garrage’.

Filmmaker Priyadarshan was the chairperson of the jury in the feature film category, while cinematographer and write Raju Mishra was the chairperson in the non-feature category.  More than 300 films competed for this year’s honors.

The awards would be presented by President of India on May 3, 2017.

Here is the list of winners:

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar (Rustom)

Best Actress: Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)

Best Director: Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)

Best Film: Kaasav

Best Film on Social Issues: Pink

Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi (Dashkriya)

Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim (Dangal)

Best Debut Film of a Director: Deep Chaudari (Alifa)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavathi

Best Feature Film on National Integration: Dikchow Banat Palaax

Best Non-Feature Film: Fireflies in the Abyss

Best Film on Environment/Conservation/Preservation: Loktak Lairmebee

Best Animated Film: Mahayodha Rama

Best Cinematography: Tirru (24)

Best Choreography: Raju Sundaram (Janatha Garrage)

Best Stunt Choreography: Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)

Best Children’s Film: Dhanak

Best Child Artist: Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)

Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer (Joker)

Best Female Playback Singer: Iman Chakraborty (Praktan)

Best Lyrics:  Vairamuthu (Entha Pakkam, Dharma Durai)

Best Music Direction (songs and background score): Bapu Padmanabha (Allama)

Best Screenplay (original): Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaaram)

Best Screenplay (adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)

Best Screenplay (Dialogues): Pelli Choopulu (Tharun Bhascker Dhaassyam)

Best Editing: Rameshwar S Bhagat (Ventilator)

Best Special Effect: Shivaay

READ:  Nawazuddin Siddiqui looks deceptive and unrecognizable in new ‘MOM’ poster

Sound Designer: Jayadevan Chakka Dath(Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)

Best Production Design: 24

Best Costume Designer: Sachin (Cycle)

Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna (Allama)

Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha (Allama)

Best Feature Films in Regional Languages

Madipur (Tulu)

Joker (Tamil)

Wrong Side Raju (Gujarati)

Pelli Choopulu (Telugu)

Dashakriya (Marathi)

Bisarjan (Bengali)

READ:  Akshay Kumar on a roll as hit ‘Housefull 3’ inches close to the Rs. 100 crore club

Maheshinte Prathikaaram (Malayalam)

K Sera Sera (Konkani)

Reservation (Kannada)

Neerja (Hindi)

Special Mention

Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)

Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi)

Majirathi Keki (Assamese)

Neerja – Sonam Kapoor
Special Jury Award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Click here for the official press note.