GOPIO, IMPACT celebrate Indian American winners of 2020


California capital building

Winners will share their campaign experience and what they hope to achieve as lawmakers over Zoom.

Two major Indian American community organizations are celebrating the victory of a record number of Indian Americans in the 2020 elections as lawmakers to state houses with a Zoom meeting on Friday.

To be hosted by Global Organization of People of Indian Origin (GOPIO) chapters (Manhattan, New York, Central New York, Connecticut, Central Jersey and Virginia) in collaboration with Indian American Impact Fund (IMPACT), the meeting will start at 7.00 p.m. EST.

The opening speaker will be IMPACT Co-Founder Deepak Raj and will be moderated by former Kansas State Representative Raj Goyle, another Co-Founder of IMPACT.

READ: Indian American winners of 2020 mark many firsts (November 20, 2020 )

The proceedings will be streamed live by through Facebook and YouTube. The winners will share their campaign experience in winning the election and what they hope to achieve in their new term as legislators.

GOPIO Chairman Dr. Thomas Abraham, the main coordinator of the event, emphasized the need for Indian Diaspora to come together and help elect more Diaspora candidates at the elections.

The event is to celebrate and thank for the hard work by all those who have been elected.

“As a broad based community organization, we at GOPIO want to provide a bipartisan platform to bring all statewide Indian American elected lawmakers and we are hoping that this would motivate more Indian Americans to join the political leadership process especially young Indian Americans,” said Dr. Thomas Abraham

As many as 20 Indian Americans won the election from 13 states as state representatives and senators. In addition, there are a few current representatives whose terms end in 2022 and 2023.

New York would have the highest number with two senators and two representatives, followed by Michigan and Washington with three representatives each.

New Jersey, Connecticut and North Carolina have two each and the rest have one each. Among the winners only three are Republicans. All others are Democrats.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.