Kerala Center honors six outstanding achievers

Kerala Center officials and Consul Vijayakrishnan with awardees. Front row, from l. to r.: Dr. George Abraham, Dr. Sabu Varghese, Dr. Blessy Joseph, Dr. Devi Nampiaparampil, Dancer and Teacher Chandrika Kurup, Nandini Nair Esq., Mary Philip and Mayor Robin Elackatt. Back row, from l. to r.: Dr. Thomas Abraham, Dr. Madhu Bhaskaran, Jimmy John, Alex Esthappan, G. Mathai, Consul A.K. Vijayakrishnan, John Paul, James Thottam, Raju Thomas, Abraham Thomas and P.T. Paulose.

Two doctors given special awards for their services during the pandemic

The Kerala Center honored six outstanding achievers in different categories and two doctors with special awards for their services during the pandemic at its 29th Annual Awards Banquet in Elmont, New York.

Indian Consul for Community Affairs, A. K. Vijayakrishnan, was the chief guest of the function held at the Center’s auditorium on Nov. 13.

When individuals of the community achieve excellence in their fields and do well for the community and society, they make relations between America and India stronger, he said.

The chief guest was introduced by Dr. Madhu Bhaskaran, chairman of the Award Committee and Board of Directors.

Read: Kerala Center to honor eight Indian American Malayalees (November 1, 2021)

In his keynote speech, Dr. George Abraham, an awardee himself, gave a call to strive to move forward by including everyone and treating everybody equally.

An organization gets much more strength when it becomes a melting pot of people and ideas, he said. Dr. George Abraham was introduced by Dr. Thomas Abraham, Chairman of the Trustee Board.

Each of the awardees was also presented a citation from New York State Senate by New York State Senator Kevin Thomas.

The honorees were:
Dr. George M. Abraham, President of the American College of Physicians, for outstanding achievements in medicine and professional services;

Dr. Devi Nampiaparampil, a practicing physician, media personality and the Republican nominee for New York City Public Advocate, for notable contributions in public service;

Robin J. Elackatt, Mayor of Missouri City, Texas, for notable achievements in political leadership;

Chandrika Kurup, director of Noopura, Indian classical dance school, for contributions and achievements in performing arts;

Mary Philip, a lieutenant in the Indian defense force and a past president of the Indian Nurses Association of New York, for notable contributions in nursing and community service;

Read: Kerala Center Honors Indian Americans at 29th Annual Awards Banquet (November 24, 2021)

Nandini P. Nair, a partner and co-chair of the Immigration and Naturalization practice group who serves on the Management Committee at Greenspoon Marder LLP, for notable services and achievements in legal services;

Dr. Sabu Varghese and Dr. Blessy Mary Joseph, practicing physicians in New York, were honored with Special Award for notable services during the pandemic in 2020 and 2021.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.