Bera, Khanna, Krishnamoorthi and Jayapal take ceremonial oath of office

From left: Reps. Ro Khanna (D-Calif.), Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.), Raja Krishnamurthy (D-Wash.) and Ami Bera (D-Calif.).

The lawmakers join 16 other Asian Americans in the ceremonial oath of office hosted by Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies (APAICS).

Indian Americans and their increasing presence in American politics is something that may be a bit hard to go unnoticed now. When the Asian American Institute for Congressional Studies (APAICS) recently organized a ceremonial oath of office, the potentiality was once again on display as prominent Indian American Congressmen were a part of the event.

Amongst the 20 Asian American law makers, there were four Indian American lawmakers who were a part of this ceremonial oath of office.

ALSO READ: Bera, Khanna, Jayapal and Krishnamoorthi re-relected; Big night for Indian American candidates (November 7, 2018)

Pramila Jayapal of Washington, Raja Krishnamoorthi of Illinois, and Ami Bera and Ro Khanna of California. These representatives have contributed to creating a lasting impact by voicing their concerns and opinions on a variety of issues, ranging from the border wall to the shutdown. Demonstrating the clout the community now holds in the political landscape of this country became all the more apparent Judge Padmanabhan Srikanth Srinivasan of the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals administered the oath.

The meeting was addressed by Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi, Majority Whip Jim Clyburn, and Majority Leader Steny Hoyer.

ALSO READ: Historic day for Indian Americans, as 5 from the community take oath as members of US Congress (January 4, 2017)

Speaker Nancy Pelosi said in her speech: “The hopes, dreams, aspirations, courage, determination, optimism – those are American traits,” and when newcomers come with those qualities, “Newcomers make America more American.”

Rep. Judy Chu, The Chair of CAPAC and the first Chinese American woman to be elected to Congress in 2009, addressed the crowd before the reception.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.