All posts by Geeta Goindi

Geeta Goindi, a journalist based in the Washington, DC, is a Contributing Editor. She has been covering the Indian American community for more than a decade.
Indian American teens Adam Ardeishar (left) of McLean, Virginia, and Eshika Saxena of Bellevue, Washington, are among the top winners of the Regeneron Science Talent Search, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious science and math competition for high school seniors.
Kavya Kopparapu
President Donald Trump welcomed the “reasonably attractive news” from India and Pakistan to defuse a conflict in the aftermath of the Pulwama terror attack, at the conclusion of his summit with the North Korean leader in Hanoi, Vietnam, on February 28, 2019
Capitol Hill;
New York Democrat Rep. Gregory Meeks (left) speaking at a Capitol Hill reception for Indian Ambassador to the United States Harsh Vardhan Shringla (center) on February 7. On the right is Consul General of India in New York Sandeep Chakravorty.
Neomi Rao confirmation hearing
The Swaminarayan Temple in Louisville, Kentucky is vandalized in a hate-motivated act targeting the Hindu community.
Indian Ambassador to the United States Harsh Vardhan Shringla with Indian Americans at outside the Embassy of India in Washington, on January 26, 2019.
Tulsi Gabbard
A record 102 women were sworn into the US House of Representatives by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi on January 3, 2019. Shown here, from left to right are: Rep. Pramila Jayapal, the first Indian-American woman elected to the House; Rep. Ilhan Omar, the first Somali-American, a refugee, elected to Congress; and Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (far right), the youngest woman ever elected to Congress
Deputy Chief of Mission Santosh Jha (fourth from left) with members of a Jewish young professionals group who rendered Hanukkah songs at the 16th annual celebration held at the Indian Chancery in Washington, DC. Photo credit: Embassy of India, Washington
Rep. Ami Bera, D-CA, (right) lights the 'diya' (ceremonial lamp) at the launch event on Capitol Hill for the year-long celebrations of the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. Seen in the center is Republican lawmaker David Schweikert of Arizona.
Sen. Bill Cassidy lights the 'diya' (lamp) at the 2018 Diwali celebration on Capitol Hill. Looking on, from left to right, are: Congressman Pete Sessions; and Congresswomen Pramila Jayapal and Grace Meng. Photo credit: BAPS
President Trump lights the Diwali 'diya' (lamp) at the White House, surrounded by Indian Americans serving in his administration and high-ranking Indian officials. Seen second from right is Indian Ambassador to the United States Navtej Sarna.
Indian Ambassador to the United States Navtej Sarna
Deputy Chief of Mission, Mr. Santosh Jha paying floral tributes to Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel during the celebration of the 143rd Birth Anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel at the Embassy of India on Friday, November 2, 2018.
Indian American Minal Patel Davis was presented the 2018 Presidential Award for Extraordinary Efforts to Combat Trafficking in Persons by Secretary of State Mike Pompeo at the Interagency Task Force to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons Annual Meeting held October 11 in the Eisenhower Executive Office Building next to the White House
young scientists award
Sen. Tim Kaine lighting the “diya” (lamp) at a Diwali celebration co-hosted by Democratic Asian Americans of Virginia (DAAV) and Virginia's 11th Congressional District Democratic Committee (CDDC). Looking on at left is Shekar Narasimhan, chairman of AAPI Victory Fund.